Week Nine: Development of Animatic and making tweaks to essay.

animation-research-and-practice-4000-word-essay-2nd-draft-daniel-dickenson

Today’s session, involved the usual routine of giving our lecturer, Sam, an update of our working progress so far. The remainder of the session was entirely tutorial based, involving us to further discuss with Sam our progress so far, on a 1:1 basis.

I spent approximately five minutes, showing the progress of my project with the rest of the group. To date, I have improved my animatic to give a clearer understanding of the overall narrative. The only downfall, was that I wanted to have produced a rough cut of the project using live-action. Due to lack of time, I ultimately chose to present the animatic in 2D from the storyboard images that I had previously created.

Earlier this week, I had the plan of booking out a camera, along with the motion-capture room and borrowing a friend to help me out with the acting element. I then intended to ‘sew’ each video together to give an insight as to what the overall piece could potentially look like. After failing to achieve this in the week, I have the intention of doing so for next time.

On the other hand, I have received three potential and interested actor applicants for my project. This was after setting up a job-list via my ‘Star-Now’ account. Unfortunately, after inviting all three, only one stood out. Nevertheless, I intend to keep up the search in a bid to film before the Christmas break. My back-up plan involves, advertising to the drama students of the Walsall Campus to determine whether anyone would be interested in getting involved. Alternatively, the 2D-animation with live-action, compositional backgrounds would be a final resort.

Leave a Reply

